top of page

Kimberlyn Rengifo

New Jersey | Pianist and Nanny

I am 25 years old with a Colombian mother and Peruvian father (what a mix!). I was raised in the Christian faith and was given the gift of music. I have been playing piano for 19 years and made my hobby, my career. I injured my back terribly in 2011 and was told I’d probably lose the ability to play for long periods of time and to this day, I prove those doctors wrong. I help my father with his construction and staging business and keep busy doing anything that brings happiness and freedom to my life. I’ve never been a 9 to 5 kind of girl, so I chose to hustle my way through anything I set my mind to. I received my bachelors in music, after being told I should change my major due to my injury, and I also studied business in 2016. I have a small piano studio, I stage homes for selling purposes, I am also an It Works distributor, and also a nanny to three beautiful girls. Never a dull moment!

What have been your struggles as a Latina?

I was one of the two Hispanic students in a class of 28 in a small private school. It was awkward at times but I chose to embrace it. Now, I realize my parents did it because they wanted me to get the best education they could offer me, even if it meant working hard!

What does Latina Made mean to you?

It’s a label that I wish I can tattoo on my forehead. It’s a pride I cannot describe. The ability to say my parents started in a different country, no money, and no language, and STILL managed to get to where they are today is a blessing and a major accomplishment.

What made you who you are today?

My parents, the love for God, and my music.

What advice would you give to young Latinas in our community?

Do it. When others say “don’t,” DO. Prove them wrong and then walk away with a huge smile on your face.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page